This history of our congregation began at the turn of last century when many Jewish families emigrated from Eastern Europe. The Montreal Jewish community began to grow, as did the dire need for a synagogue to accommodate a growing membership.
In 1892 the Austrian Synagogue – named Shaare Tefillah – came into being and was situated at Milton and Clark Street up to 1924. In 1936 the congregation moved to 129 Milton Street.
Shomrim Laboker was founded in 1914 and set up a synagogue on 717 Cadieux Street. As the congregation grew, the synagogue was moved to 3675 S. Dominique Street and remained there until 1950.
With the Jewish population moving to the western part of the city, the congregation purchased land on the corner lot of Westbury and Plamondon in 1950. In 1954 construction of the synagogue began – during which period services were held in a tent and rented hall until the building was completed.
In 1959 Congregation Beth Yehudah – situated at 16-18 La Gauchetiere Street East - amalgamated with Shomrim Laboker. Shortly thereafter, in 1960, Shaare Tefillah followed suite.
From 1958 until 1991 our congregation was graced by the leadership of Rabbi Dr. Chaim Noach Denburg, whose inspiration, teachings and leadership were a blessing to our community and beyond. His unforgettable scholarship and vision left an indelible mark on all those who knew him.
In the 1990′s, the Jewish population in the Cote des Neiges area deminished, resulting in the 1997 amalgamation of Congregation Beth Medrash Hagadol Tifereth Israel, known as the Mackenzie Street Shul, which had been built in 1952.
Today, Shomrim Laboker is a vibrant, open and spiritual congregation made up of a diverse group of Jewish people.
For a more detailed account of the history of our shul click here.